all posts tagged hangout


by on January 20, 2014

Gluster Spotlight on James Shubin: Puppet-Gluster, Vagrant and GlusterFS Automation

***UPDATE: Due to weather-related flight cancelations and rebooking, we had to push this back to Thursday, January 23, at noon PST/3pm EST/20:00 GMT***

James Shubin is known in the Gluster community for his work on the Puppet-Gluster module.

Recently, he’s begun to create powerful cocktails of Puppet and Vagrant to create recipes for automated Gluster deployments. See, eg.

Building Base Images for Vagrant with a Makefile

and

Testing GlusterFS During GlusterFest

This will be quite a fun spotlight, and very much worth your while. As usual, join the #gluster-meeting channel on the Freenode IRC network to participate in the live Q&A.

About Gluster Spotlight

Gluster Spotlight is a weekly Q&A show featuring the most exciting movers and shakers in the Gluster Community. If you don’t catch them live, you can always watch the recordings later.

by on January 15, 2014

Gluster Hangout with Daniel Mons from Cutting Edge

Dan Mons came across GlusterFS at his job with Cutting Edge, a VFX company. He needed lots of storage space that was available to many different users – and he needed it to be able to expand as he needed. That it was free and ran on commodity systems was a big plus.

Come join us as we learn from Dan and pepper him with lots of questions. We’ll be at a special time this week because Dan is in Oz – 5pm Pacific US/8pm Eastern US/01:00 GMT

Follow along on YouTube in the video above and ask questions in #gluster-meeting on the Freenode IRC network (irc.freenode.net or irc.gnu.org, among others).

by on January 10, 2014

Hangout with Semiosis (Louis Z) Today – Gluster on AWS, Java Filesystem and more

In about 90 minutes, Louis Zuckerman and I will be “hanging out” and talking about how he came to deploy GlusterFS on AWS, and why he’d developing a Java Filesystem integration with GlusterFS. I’ll post the embedded YouTube link here when we’re about to go live. Hangout starts at 11am EST, 8am PST, 16:00GMT – follow along on YouTube and ask questions in #gluster-meeting on IRC.gnu.org.